Beer returns to the capital
After the war, the now nationalized brewery was called: Warszawskie Zakłady Piwowarskie (Warsaw Brewery). The only former member of the board of directors of the company was Aleksander Schiele (1890-1976), who, until the outbreak of war, was a director in the Vodka and Condiment Factory. He led the rebuilding of the factory, working simultaneously with the Capital Reconstruction Ministry (BOS), where as a qualified architect, he participated in the rebuilding and reconstruction of several historic buildings in Warsaw. Among others the Blank Palace.
Ministry officials wanted to be able to boast as quickly as possible the start of operations at the brewery that Warsaw loved, but they often made some stupid and absurd decisions. One of them was an attempt to use equipment from other breweries e.g. from Braniewo. To make use of the equipment from Braniewo meant that the cellars of the Haberbusch & Schiele plants had to be deepened by two meters, which was not only costly but reduced the usefulness of the existing parts that had actually survived the war.
It was therefore not until 1955 that the first bottles actually came off the production line. The assortment was limited to two beers: a light Pilsner and a dark malt. The press wrote about it with immense joy:
“The consumption of beer increased after the war six-fold. So far, beer has flowed to the capital from several breweries, hundreds of kilometers from Warsaw, namely from Wroclaw and from Krotoszyn. When there was a heat-wave … we know, we know … beer was unavailable from kiosks. Next year, this situation will improve. A few days ago the Warsaw brewery started production again”.